2015 Valley League Champions: Strasburg Express!

Back even before the 2015 Valley League season began, Strasburg’s Jay Neal said to me, in a Facebook exchange, “If we get all of our guys here in 2015 we will be stacked.” He stopped short of predicting a title, but maybe he should have. (I hope Jay doesn’t mind my sharing of that exchange.)

Because, of course, the Strasburg Express won its first ever Valley League title last night with a 4-3 victory over the Staunton Braves in game three of the finals.

Down 3-2 going into the 8th, the Express scored twice in the rain; once when Trevor Rucker doubled in Josh Cushing, and the second when Rucker scored on a Jeremy Musser fielder’s choice.

That was all Danney Rafferty needed, as he threw the 7th, 8th, and 9th innings without allowing a baserunner (he earned the win).

Jack Schaaf accounted for 2 of the 3 Brave runs with a home run in the 3rd inning, and Parker Johnson got the loss in relief.

The champs!
The champs!

Previous VBL Champions:

2014: Waynesboro Generals
2013: Waynesboro Generals
2012: Harrisonburg Turks
2011: Covington Lumberjacks
2010: Luray Wranglers
2009: Haymarket Senators
2008: Luray Wranglers
2007: Waynesboro Generals
2006: Luray Wranglers
2005: Covington Lumberjacks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s