Minor League Record Book: Batting Average in a Season

In our last “in a season” record book installment (since the 2006 draft), we have batting average, with the additional caveat that the batter must have had 400 at-bats. This is a pretty strong list:

1 Collin Cowgill Covington ’05 2011 0.354
2 James McOwen Luray ’05-06 2009 0.340
3 Clint Robinson Harrisonburg ’05-06 2010 0.335
4 John Raynor New Market ’04 2007 0.333
Tyler Kuhn Luray ’06-07 2011 0.333
6 Clint Robinson Harrisonburg ’05-06 2011 0.326
7 Jeff Kindel Covington ’03 2007 0.317
8 Tyson Auer Luray ’05-06 2010 0.316
9 Joey Butler New Market ’06 2011 0.313
10 Jon Jay Staunton ’04 2008 0.312
John Raynor New Market ’04 2008 0.312
Clint Robinson Harrisonburg ’05-06 2014 0.312

Cowgill, Robinson, Raynor, Butler, and Jay have all played in the major leagues. Auer and Kuhn reached Triple-A, and Kindel played in Double-A for three seasons. McOwen also reached Double-A, but is best known for setting the California League record with a 45-game hitting streak in 2009. It was the 8th longest streak in minor league history.

After this post, the record book attention will turn to minor league career numbers, which will focus an inordinate amount of attention to Clint Robinson, who holds first place in 6 of the 9 categories. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s