Minor League Record Book: Runs in a Season

We’ve finished the league record book, so we’ll turn our attention to the minor league record book. Keep in mind that these stats are for players drafted since 2006 (which does not include Brett Gardner, by the way).

So we’ll start with runs scored in a season:

1 John Raynor New Market ’04 2007 110
2 Sherman Johnson Covington ’09-10 2014 107
3 John Raynor New Market ’04 2008 104
4 Jason Kipnis Covington ’06-07 2010 96
Tyler Bortnick Front Royal ’06 2011 96
6 Tyson Auer Luray ’05-06 2010 95
Collin Cowgill Covington ’05 2011 95
8 Mac Williamson Harrisonburg ’11 2013 94
9 Mike Mitchell Staunton ’06 2008 93
Joey Butler New Market ’06 2012 93

John Raynor had two incredible seasons, but back in 2007 and 2008. Sherman Johnson got awfully close to setting the record this year, but fell 3 runs short.

Raynor, Jason Kipnis, Collin Cowgill, and Joey Butler have all played in the majors. Bortnick is in Triple-A. Auer and Mitchell are out of pro ball, and Williamson will hopefully bounce back from injury in 2015.

Coming tomorrow: the 8th best starting pitcher!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s